Memory Lane

Where does your memory lane begin and end? Is there an end? Each memory is sparked by one defining characteristic and that is because it impacted you. Whether or not it is a glance of the past, where history lies, or whether it was this morning where possible changes can be made, and history can be rewritten. Memory lane lies in your mind and your perception of why you revisit it. My memory lane is ever constant, hiding around every corner, surprising me sometimes. Some of my memories seem to never end. There is an addition of the story that lives on forever, that continues to be told, thus not ending. I have so many twists and turns in my memory lane, that I don’t think they can ever all be told. Some memories are just little flashbacks, like the time my brother Buddy found a 2X6 board that had been painted with an enamel-based paint. It was white, shiny and very slick. This time, the story is on him. Well, Buddy got the bright idea to bring it in the house, which was already wrong. Rodney was small, yet remembers, I asked him last week. It was getting on in the evening and it was nearly time for dad to be home from work when Buddy brought in this stupid board, propped it against the couch and we three began to climb on the couch and slide down the board over and over. Of course, mom kept telling us to get it outside, but, boys will be boys! Her warnings fell on deaf ears apparently, for no sooner than she told us to get the board out of the house, my dad walks in and catches us sliding on the board. Needless to say, we all scurried and ran under the kitchen table. Dad came in the kitchen and told us to come out. Well, Rodney and Buddy came out and got their dues, but I didn’t want to. I knew what was going to happen. I remember saying “if I come out will you not fwoop” me? He said no, “I won’t whip you”. I will never forget the pronunciation of that word. Well, he lied. I came out and got a good spanking and was sent to bed with Rodney and Buddy and that’s where we stayed till morning. Other memories in random float by before I can finish the ones I’m working on, like the evening my dad cooked a goat outside in a fire. I can remember using a lot of catsup on mine, it was terrible! I remember stealing money out of my dad’s wallet and waiting till morning to walk to the store and buy a bag of candy. Yes, it was a twenty-dollar bill, dad missed it and wondered how we got all that candy. I lied and told mom that someone had given it to us. I didn’t have a chance to get under the kitchen table, and I never could find where I buried the change in the dirt, bills and coins. Twenty dollars was a lot of money in 1963 and probably should have been questioned when a four-year-old goes to pay with it. Anyway, for a day we were happy. I remember the first time I ever flew in a plane, I was so scared that I wouldn’t get up to go to the bathroom. By the time I got to the terminal, I thought my bladder would burst, as if this is something you wanted to know. You see how many twists and turns can abruptly change in my memory lane? I see my older brothers playing football in the sleet, while I’m in the football stands wrapped in a blanket. I need a passing lane. LOL…..

Copyright @coffeewithcharles.blog (Charles D. Grant)

Author: coffeewithcharles58

Married for 36 years to a wonderful wife. I have 2 grown sons and a beautiful daughter n law. I love life, past and present.

Leave a comment